2011 award winners in pediatric otolaryngology research announced by ASPO US

Empower & Inspire: Spread Health & Wellness

The American Society of Pediatric Otolaryngology (ASPO) will recognize the outstanding achievements of researchers in the field of pediatric otolaryngology during their annual meeting, April_29 ? May_1, 2011, in Chicago, IL.

The awards will be presented during a banquet reception on Saturday, April_30, 2011, at the Sheraton Chicago Hotel & Towers.

Two prestigious groups of awards will be presented-the William P. Potsic Basic Science Award for the best basic science research paper, and the Charles F. Ferguson Clinical Research Award, for the best clinical research paper.

2011 William P. Potsic Basic Science Award Honoree:
1st Place
Yuemeng Dai, MD, PhD
Enos Protein Expression is Decreased in Involuting Hemangiomas
2011 Charles F. Ferguson Clinical Research Award Honoree:

1st Place
Stephanie Maturo, MD
Intraoperative Laryngeal Electromyography in Children with Vocal Fold Immobility: Results of a Multicenter Longitudinal Study

In addition to the awards, hundreds of pieces of new research will be presented during the ASPO meeting, focusing on children’s ear, nose, and throat health. National health statistics reveal that pediatric ear, nose, and throat disorders remain among the primary reasons children visit a physician, with ear infections ranking as the number one reason for an appointment.

The American Society of Pediatric Otolaryngology (ASPO) exists to foster excellence in the care of children with otolaryngologic disorders through education and research, and thereby enhance the profession of pediatric otolaryngology.

Source: American Academy of Otolaryngology ? Head and Neck Surgery, USA

Leave a Comment